Commissions, Boards, Committees

Board of Review

The Board of Review is a quasi-judicial body comprised of the seven Village board members, who are all voting members, and the Village Clerk, who serves as the recording secretary. Their purpose is to hear oral testimony from individual property owners appealing their property assessments. Based on that testimony, the board must decide whether an individual has proven the Assessor’s value as incorrect. Board of Review meets annually at any time during a 45-day period beginning on the 4th Monday of April. Depending upon whether the roll book is prepared, the board may adjourn to another future meeting date and time to hear testimony. The Board of Review shall be in session at least 2 hours.

  • Dale A. Youngquist
  • Gregory Ziegler
  • Jason Patzwald
  • Kris Koeppe
  • Barbara J. Hanson
  • Deb Swiertz
  • Michael Van Dyke
  • Darla Fink, Recording Secretary

Board of Trustees

Village board members, elected in the Spring, serve two-year terms beginning on the third Tuesday in April.  Trustee 1, Trustee 3, and Trustee 5 are elected in even years; Trustee 2, Trustee 4, Trustee 6, and the Village President are elected in odd years. All seven Village board members are at-large, and serve all of the Village’s residents equally. Village board members also serve as members of the Board of Review.

Board members usually hold evening hours at the Municipal Complex to attend meetings and conduct Village business. Regular Village Board of Trustees meetings  are held consecutively on the second and fourth Mondays of each month begining at 6:00 pm.

The Village board regularly attend other meetings throughout the year such as budget meetings, workshops, sewerage commission meetings, special meetings, and closed sessions.

  • Dale A. Youngquist, Village President
  • Michael Van Dyke, Trustee 1
  • Kris Koeppe, Trustee 2
  • Gregory Ziegler, Trustee 3
  • Jason Patzwald, Trustee 4
  • Deb Swiertz, Trustee 5
  • Barbara J. Hanson, Trustee 6

Fox West Regional Sewerage Commission

The Village President along with two Village Trustees serve as a commissioners who represent the Village on the Fox West Regional Sewerage Commission; each serves a two-year term, which coincides with their elected term of office. Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of every month at 4:00 p.m.

  • Michael Van Dyke
  • Dale A. Youngquist
  • Gregory Ziegler

Housing Appeals Board

The Housing Appeals Board meets as needed and consists of three citizen members, the village attorney, and the building inspector, who serves as the recording secretary. The citizens on this board are not required to live in the municipality and are appointed based on their specialized expertise in the field. Terms are for three years and are staggered beginning on July 1st, so that one member is appointed each year.

  • Jeff Donato, Citizen member
  • Aaron Meloan, Citizen member
  • Mike Gibbons, Citizen member
  • Luke Fischenich, Recording Secretary
  • Village Attorney

Park Commission

The Park Commission guides and directs the operations of the Parks & Recreation Department.  The Commission’s overall responsibility is to ensure the citizens of the Village of Fox Crossing receive an optimal level of park and recreation services within the budgetary parameters established by the Village Board of Trustees. The commission meets the second Wednesday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m.  Meetings are held in the Municipal Complex Assembly Room unless otherwise noted on the posted agenda. There are seven appointed citizen members who serve three-year terms. Members serve three-year terms, which overlap and are staggered so that in even years two commissioners are appointed, and in odd years, three commissioners are appointed; terms begin on July 1.

  • Jim Beson, Chair
  • Kathleen Sylvester, Vice-Chair
  • Steven Otto, Commissioner
  • Suneer Patel, Commissioner
  • Jordyn Kurer, Commissioner
  • Chris McCoy, Commissioner
  • Jean Wollerman, Commissioner

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. They are an advisory board and review applications for sign permits, variances, land divisions, rezoning, conditional use permits and applications for new development. The commission consists of seven citizen members from the community at-large; the presiding officer shall be selected by the Village President, and the Director of Community Development shall serve as the staff liaison to the Planning Commission. Members serve three-year terms, which overlap and are staggered so that in even years two commissioners are appointed, and in odd years, three commissioners are appointed; terms begin on May 1.

  • Morris Cox, Commissioner
  • Michael Scheibe, Commissioner
  • Dennis Jochman, Chair
  • Thomas Willecke, Commissioner
  • Tracy Romzek, Commissioner
  • Michael Prince, Commissioner
  • Thomas Young, Commissioner

Police and Fire Commission

The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners meet as required, or at least quarterly, throughout the year to decide matters involving sworn officers of the fire and police departments. Meetings are held on various dates and times, usually at 5:00 p.m. The board consists of five citizen members with overlapping and staggered terms so that one member is appointed each year. Members serve a five-year term which begins on June 1st. Police and Fire Commission Contact Page

  • Thomas Gritton, President
  • Laurie Collins, Vice President
  • Robert Masiak, Secretary
  • Michael Lettier, Commissioner
  • Kate McQuillan, Commissioner

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee was formed and members appointed on February 11, 2008. The committee was created to assist in the development and implementation of a sustainability plan of action and principles for the Village of Fox Crossing. The committee consists of seven citizen members who serve staggered two-year terms, with three members’ terms expiring in even years and four members’ terms expiring in odd years. Regular meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month beginning at 5:15 p.m.

  • Kris Koeppe, Chair
  • Susan Garcia-Franz, Citizen Member
  • Tracy Romzek, Citizen Member
  • Michael Scheibe, Citizen Member
  • Thomas Willecke, Citizen Member
  • Laurie Collins, Citizen Member
  • Megan Horejs, Citizen Member

Zoning Board of Appeals

The board consists of five citizen members who serve three-year terms beginning on April 1. Terms are staggered with one citizen member appointed in odd years and two citizen members appointed in even years every other year; a first alternate member and a second alternate member are also appointed if needed. The Zoning Board of Appeals meets as necessary on the first Wednesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. to hear and decide administrative appeals, variances, and other matters as allowed by the zoning ordinances and state law.

  • Elizabeth Vorpahl, Citizen Member
  • Vacant Citizen Member
  • Bill Breider, Citizen Member
  • Michael Gibbons, First Alternate
  • Pam Seidl Second Alternate
  • Dale Haug, Citizen Member
  • Vacant Citizen Member